Skip to content

Scholarships for Education Students

There are three scholarships available specifically to Education students:

  • The DD Harris Geography Teaching Scholarship

    Don Harris was a highly esteemed geography teacher and author whose contribution to the study and teaching of geography in South Australia extended over six decades. In his memory, the Geography Teachers’ Association of South Australia will offer up to three scholarships annually.

    The DD Harris Geography Teaching Scholarships seek to encourage three beginning teachers, one from each of the universities – Adelaide, Flinders and the University of South Australia who possess a strong academic background in geography at tertiary level and is likely in the future to significantly contribute to geography teaching in South Australia.

    Students who meet the criteria apply by completing an application form available from the Faculty of Education at their university or directly from the GTASA website:

    Applications close July 30th of each year.

  • The Smolicz Languages Education Travel Award

    The Smolicz Languages Education Travel Award is intended to provide partial support for students undertaking a program of study in education, in the curriculum area of languages, to enable them to travel overseas (or within Australia, in the case of indigenous languages), with the aim of enhancing their knowledge and subsequent teaching of a language other than English.

    This award is open to students who are Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia and undertaking a Bachelor of Teaching or a Graduate Diploma in Education program of full-time or part-time study at the University of Adelaide.  In particular, they must be currently enrolled in, or have previously completed, a course in Languages Curriculum & Methodology.  Students must be enrolled on the census dates (usually 31 March and 31 August each year) to be eligible for the award.

    Students must provide an outline of what they hope to achieve with the help of the award; a travel itinerary of planned visits; and a rationale  for their proposed activities.

    Applications including covering letter, to be lodged by 12pm, 2nd October 2017. Email directly to  Applications and Cover letter will be emailed to Language Students early September. Forms will also be available on the Sonia placement website.

  • The Ashok Khurana Scholarship for Indian Teachers

    The Ashok Khurana Scholarship for Indian Teachers scholarship has been established by Professor Ashok Khurana to support the post-graduate education of a practising, tertiary qualified, school teacher working within the Indian education system. Applicants must be Indian nationals. This scholarship is open to a tertiary qualified teacher with a recognised undergraduate degree and at least five years teaching experience in India. 

    Find out more about this scholarship

There are a number of scholarships available to both commencing and continuing students, and you can apply for as many scholarships as you satisfy the eligibility criteria for. We encourage students from all backgrounds to apply for a scholarship.

For more scholarships see the University Scholarships website. This site is regularly updated and provides application and closing date information.

School of Education

Faculty of Arts


Level 8
10 Pulteney Street
The University of Adelaide SA 5005
North Terrace Campus Map


Telephone: +61 8 8313 0694
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 3604
Staff Directory: School of Education